How to participate once diagnosed with a Mental Illness

Years after my diagnoses with Bipolar Disease. I thought it was time to participate in my medical care. To understand layman’s terms, what to expect and when to call doctor. Getting on the same page as you learn doctor speak and how they hear.

A proficient Psychiatrist with a background helping Mentally Ill patients. Please save your time and money going to General Doctor. Most are not versed in how drugs work together or not. Psychiatrist understandย drugs, spend more time to make diagnoses and discuss the drugs to help.

A Therapist, my foundation in healing. The key to healing is understanding yourself. They can help take the weight you’re carrying around.

Don’t stop taking your medication. Medications cause side effects, the drugs you buy at CVS have side effects. Every drug has side effects. It may take 6-8 weeks for the medicine to level off. If you want to change a drug in a week, please understand, there are no short cuts. Short cuts not only prolong the treatment and can be dangerous. If you’re determined to stop medicine, Call your doctor first! If you become delusional, psychotic or determined to hurt yourself go to local hospital.

Keep a journal to document the changes in mood. Keeping a log helped my doctor see my mood was cycling. A medication change was needed.

There are many ideas on how people were helped or not by medicine. I will admit a couple of times a new drug to current mix sent me reeling. I am always on the internet reading about each drug especially now with Lyme medications. I’m sharing my experiences in hopes of helping someone.

๐Ÿ™‚

M

22 Comments on “How to participate once diagnosed with a Mental Illness

  1. This whole medicine thing has gotten worse as I get older
    The side effects have pushed in ways that I can’t begin to say
    Great post
    I hope we can talk more
    So that others don’t get discouraged
    We need more dialogue between all of us
    As always Sheldon

    Like

  2. ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’“โฃ๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’˜๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป๐Ÿ‘ญ. I’m so glad to have you here. Having found your blog helped me to discover one more friend on my personal journey toward freedom. Depression robs us of so much. Knowing that we don’t walk alone ignites hope.

    Like

  3. I love you, you love us. You constantly bring forward information that helps those new to navigating their illness, or someone like myself who has many miles logged on her journey.

    Blessings, M. Thank you for shining your light.
    โ˜•๏ธโค๏ธ

    Like

    • You always say the nicest comments. Thank you very much, I’m so glad you’re back. I have a question. You said “someone like myself who has many miles logged on her journey” What type of post do you like to read or see more of?
      I could use the coffee now. But I’ll try to sleep again.
      Talk again soon, maybe today!
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      M

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Sweetie,

        I love reading about people’s lives, anything and everything. If someone is having a difficult time, I want them to know I’m here to listen, without judgement. So many of us go into out inner selves when we are struggling. I love to offer hope, if only to let them know that their voice is being heard. It’s important that someone who gives voice to their suffering, know that by speaking out about it, they diminish its hold upon them. Venting is healthy, and when you build a community of supporters, you allow others to realize none of us ever walks alone. Each one of us has something important to say, and everyone of us has the capacity to offer a lifeline.

        And vice-versa…got something fun you want to share? Oh, those stories I cherish, too. I can vicariously enjoy your joy, seeing you realize a goal, a triumph, even a visit or a get-away.

        I recently experienced a year that was very difficult, but I saw your posts and those of others. Although I was not at a stage where I could open up to respond, just realizing people cared enough to let me know they were here when I needed them…that is, and was, priceless.
        โค๏ธ

        Like

      • You are priceless my friend. When did your heart fill for others? Have you always been considerate? I can’t say the same for me. It’s one reason I share the bad parts of my life, people can see how crazy survived. I don’t work anymore, but looking at my adult life and career I far exceeded survived. I don’t talk about all the money had and lost, sounds like bragging. I sued my employer and two other Major companies when I was fired for no reason. The Bigest company lied trying to play me against another company. It took two long year, sitting at end of table with 13 lawyers looking down their noses. I learned what I was made of and pressure and money won’t me back down. It’s a long post so I’ve dropped notes and one day it will come together. One experience I want to write about now, Lyme or emotions are holding me back. I was stalked for 6 years. I have to be in the right frame of mind. I know many on WP have been stalked.
        Talked your ear off again. So glad to call you friend.
        ๐Ÿ™‚
        Melinda

        Like

  4. “Every drug has side effects. It may take 6-8 weeks for the medicine to level off.” I think this is the best advice any one can give. I get frustrated when I hear someone say they quit their meds after a week because it made them sick. My life is much better through chemistry. There’s only one drug that I took and quit after a few days and that is because it made me violent…my pdoc said to get off it NOW. I won’t name the drug, though, because it’s a popular one and helps thousands of people (therefore I don’t want to encourage anyone not to try it.) Obviously it just wasn’t right for my brain chemistry. Psych meds are funny that way. Great post.

    Like

    • So glad yo came by and left your feedback. Unfortunately I hear people all the time complain, side effects aren’t easy but most get better. Being Mentally Ill and no drugs is much worse for you and those around you. I’m a research crazy, even after taking a med for some time I still keep up to see if changes to label are made. Due diligence will help make life better. Being able to look back and learn even better. Sharing is passing on the guidance of the one who pulled us along.
      Have a great day. Look forward to seeing you.
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      M

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was thinking about you M. when a story was featured recently about a young girl who was blessed during the Pope’s visit this past year. She has shown great improvement, some say miraculously since then. But, it turns out, the attention her case received got her additional medical scrutiny. She was actually suffering from Lyme, which had been mis-diagnosed by earlier doctors. Amazing. Hope you are doing well. ๐Ÿ’• Hugs

    Like

I want to hear your thoughts. I can take it!

